The Local Area of Exmoor

There is so much to see and do on Exmoor from walking, cycling and horse-riding to simply relaxing and touring the local area, visiting the beautiful villages and tea rooms.

Exmoor offers a contrasting landscape of ancient wood valleys, magical waterfalls and a spectacular coastline with secluded beaches, as well as miles of wild moorland valleys and coombes to explore.  Dramatic scenery at any time of year, an shear area of outstanding natural beauty.

If you are coming to see the Exmoor National Park to enjoy the wildlife, a quiet, unspoilt corner of Somerset and North Devon,  then you won’t be disappointed with our famous wild Exmoor ponies and red deer. Land Rover or horse-riding guided tours are available, both offering an ideal way to see and experience Exmoor’s wildlife.

Whatever way you choose to explore Exmoor, you will certainly enjoy your stay and we guarantee you’ll want to come back!

Towns, Villages and other areas of Interest

Winsford
Charming village, off the beaten track with an award winning pub. A pretty stream runs through the village and there is easy access to attractions such as Tarr Steps with its famous tea rooms.

Woods Restaurant and Bar

Dulverton

A pretty market town with many tearooms and boutique shops. Known as ‘the Chelsea of Exmoor’. It also has a superb Thai restaurant and lovely restaurant/bar with an extraoridnary list of over 500 wines and a woodburning stove in the big fireplace.

Wheddon Cross

The highest village in Somerset! Wheddon Cross has a charming pub and tea room and it’s from here that you catch the bus to Snowdrop Valley.

Dunster

Porlock Weir

Preserved medieval village at the foot of the stunning National Trust Castle. Known as ‘the jewel in Exmoor’s crown’. Dunster has numerous shops and tearooms as well as a beautiful church and medieval dovecote.

Porlock

Pretty coastal village with numerous shops and tearooms. Also the quaint harbour of Porlock Weir with picturesque pebble beach and award winning seafood restaurant.

Linton and Lynmouth

Lynton/Lynmouth

Two little towns, one above the other with stunning views. A Victorian steam powered railway connects the two. The poet Shelley once visited Lynton and it’s easy to see why. This is a particularly pretty corner of Exmoor.

Dunkery Beacon

Embark on one of themany circular walks up to Dunkery beacon the highest point on Exmoor with its magnificent views across the Bristol Channel to Wales and south to Dartmoor.

Tarr Steps

Tarr Steps

Visit the ancient stone ‘Tarr Steps‘ on the river Barle, just ten minutes drive from here and take a lovely circular walk up the wooded river valley before an excellent cream tea at Tarr Farm.

There are also some great spots along the river in and around Exford where children can paddle, even swim in some spots and do a bit of fishing with their nets, weather permitting of course!

Useful Exmoor Links

  • Exmoor: www.exmoor.com
  • Visit Exmoor: www.visit-exmoor.eu
  • Exmoor & West Somerset: www.visit-exmoor.co.uk
  • Exmoor Events: www.exmoorevents.co.uk
  • Exmoor to Sea – Association of Visitor Attractions: www.exmoorattractions.comExmoor National Park
  • Authority site: www.exmoor-nationalpark.gov.uk
  • Exmoor Society: www.exmoorsociety.org.uk
  • The West Somerset Railway: www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk
  • Explore Exmoor’s Past – an insight into the history of Exmoor: www.ExploreEnglandsPast.org.uk/Exmoor
  • The North Devon and Exmoor Leisure Guides: www.leisureguides.org.uk
  • Active Exmoor – outdoor activities taking place around Exmoor: www.activeexmoor.com
  • South West Coast Path: www.swcp.org.uk
  • The Exmoor Pony Society: www.exmoorponysociety.org.uk
  • The Quantocks Food Festival, early May each year: www.foodlinks.org.uk
  • The Exmoor Producers Association: www.exmoor-producers.co.uk
  • The Two Moors Music Festival – Classic FM’s Festival in the South West: www.thetwomoorsfestival.com
  • Everything Exmoor – a free encyclopedia: www.everythingexmoor.org.uk
  • Devon tourism site: www.devon.gov.uk
  • Information from Lynton & Lynmouth Tourist Information Centre: www.lynton-lynmouth-tourism.co.uk
  • Somerset Tourism: www.visitsomerset.co.uk
  • The Porlock Tourist Association: www.porlock.co.uk
  • Transport throughout Exmoor and the surrounding areas: www.firstgroup.com